The Pocket Testament League

Back to Top
简体中文
口袋圣经协会会员?立即登入加入口袋圣经协会。 成为会员免费!
圣经的重要性

圣经是神的话语
世上最重要的书

发现上帝话语的无穷力量

Dan Buttafuoco是纽约的一位律师,也是圣经历史文献协会主席。他写了这篇阐述为什么要每天阅读圣经的文章。我们把它呈现在这里,激励大家每天阅读神的话语。

圣经是独一无二的,是世上最重要的书。它是所有至今还对现代社会产生影响的重大历史事件的见证人。如果圣经从来没有出现过的话,那么整个西方文明和极大一部分东方文明都会截然不同。

无需赘言,在世上存在过的绝大多数人都承认圣经记载的事项是人类历史上最为重要的历史事件。圣经是人类所有已知的和将知的事情的基础。圣经也直接引导了诸多善举的发生,很多伟大的工程得以开展,医院被建立、难民衣食丰足、孤儿有处安身。

以下五大理由告诉你为什么要读圣经。该文的作者为Dan Buttafuoco,圣经历史文献协会的主席。

理由一:
圣经改变了世界

圣经的重要性一个人是在不可能宣称自己受过教育却对圣经一无所知。实际上,每个人都应该去了解圣经记载的所有事情。

  • 世界上有相当多的一部分人每天都坚持读一段圣经。圣经是有史以来印刷数量最大的书籍,被翻译成了几乎每一种已知的语言文字(包括盲文),并且每年都是销量冠军。随着时间的推移,圣经一直持续不断的被翻译成更多的语言印刷出版,它的每一个版本都成为了藏书家们的宝贝。
  • 圣经是第一本被印刷出版的书籍。第一次印刷圣经的人Johannes Gutenberg,最近刚刚当选为过去1000年中对人类影响最为重要的人之一。
  • 有相当数量的图书馆专门研究圣经和其中记载的历史事件。
  • 你可以在世界的每一个角落找到圣经,哪怕是在那些持有和阅读圣经被视为违法的国家。你也可以在互联网上免费找到它的电子版本或CD版本。知名的演员和名人也常常引用圣经里的内容。莎士比亚就在他的著作里,多次引用圣经。
  • 世界性的组织和机构因圣经和圣经里的信息而建立,有些已经存在了好几个世纪了。他们加在一起拥有数以亿计的成员。

理由二:
人们甘愿为圣经而死

圣经的重要性有人遭受酷刑而死仅仅是为了有机会接近圣经。你可能现在生活在那些不允许甚至法律禁止圣经的地方。还有些国家把发放和拥有圣经视为严重的犯罪行为。

  • 圣经被赞美、被诅咒、被限制、被禁止、被亵渎、被焚烧和争抢。人们在圣经上按手起誓,也为它奔波劳碌。
  • 有人想要清除它,但都失败了。有人为了印刷它遭受酷刑折磨,失去自由甚至生命。这样的种种事情几个世纪前发生过,现在也还在发生。
  • 这本书在被人们深爱的同时也被另外的人们深深的憎恨着。但是一旦你读过一次以后,你就不可能对它完全不在乎。因为它里面的信息是不朽的、不符合常理的,所以它激起的反应无论是正面的还是负面的都是非常巨大的。你将会对它又爱又恨,它在写定之初就是这样设计的。它是如此的充满争议,以致因为对它的理解不一致,而引发过无数战争。政权因之而倾倒,君王为之下台。但是最为重要的是,无数的生命因它而戏剧性的改变而踏上求善之路。

理由三:
圣经是最精确的古籍

圣经的重要性圣经是再版次数最多的古籍。圣经前后耗时约1500年才写成,最终完稿于距今约2000年前。但是即使如此,在这过往长达几千年的时间里,它的内容从未被发现过有任何的错误。

  • 圣经由现代和过往的无数世代的最聪明最称职的学者,根据无数的原文古手稿悉心筛选编译才最终整理成现在的版本。它被翻译成迄今为止存在过的所有语言文字。
  • 它的精准遍及每一个细节。它的内容在翻译时尽可能的最大限度的贴近原文。整本圣经只有极少数的几个字(只占极其微小的比例)是尚存稍许争议但却不影响整本圣经所传达的信息。而且,新的考古发掘出来的更多的古卷手稿也在不断完善和印证圣经的精确性。
  • 圣经经受了世上任何书籍都不可能经受的筛选、研究、注释和剖析。数量庞大的研究圣经的书籍,多到如果把它们一本一本地摞在一起就可以顶到天了。
  • 几乎在所有的外部领域都能印证圣经的精确性,无论是考古学、地理学,还是风俗、政治、文化、历史和远古的其他文学作品等领域。现代的新发现更是无一不支持圣经,从未出现过反证。圣经从未被在任何一个细节或事实上被证明是有错误的,虽然无数的人做过无数的这种证伪尝试,但他们都失败了。

理由四:
它包含生命改变信息

圣经的重要性圣经用它清楚的教导将无数的人从压迫中解放了出来。它高举人类有生而来的尊严和权利。圣经的确是一部卓越的令人震惊著作。它包含了清楚的关于价值观和个人价值的教导。它将使你惊奇和感动以致潸然泪下。

  • 它一直在解放人们的思想和内心,从过去到现在。圣经记载的事件启发人们创作的伟大的艺术作品(当然也有些不是很伟大的)超过任何其他的题材。世上所有的博物馆加起来可能都无法容纳这些圣经题材的艺术作品。
  • 圣经本身就描述了什么是真正的自由。它不像其它的所谓重要的书籍那样,圣经从未让自己处于任何团体的操控之下。圣经是属于所有人的,每一个人、每一种文化、每一个部落、每一个人种都为它着迷、为他疯狂。阅读它,它会直接鞭策你的内心。圣经里有所有人都在追求的"真理"。
  • 圣经包含了最核心的信息。这些信息是关于所有世代所有人的每一天的生活的。圣经声称他就是神的话语……一个极其大胆的但确定无疑的声明……你需要自己决定是否相信这些信息,是否要把它应用到你的日常生活中去。
  • 如果你现在还对上帝一无所知,那么在你读完整本圣经以后你就会对上帝有相当的了解。如果你觉得你已经很了解上帝了,读完整本圣经后你会发现你对他又有进一步的认识了。在读完之后,你很可能就会选择重新评估你那些关于上帝的认知。

理由五:
圣经将你与历史上最重要的人物相连

圣经的重要性你可能听说了“人子”、“拿撒勒的耶稣”,也被称作“基督”、“受膏者”,可能觉得你认识他。但是如果你不亲自的去通读过圣经的话,你实际上对他一点都不了解。整本旧约圣经都预示了他的到来,而新约圣经则记录了他的教导和事迹。

  • 他的名字对信他的人来说是祝福,而对那些轻视他的人却是诅咒。人们因着他的名而得医治,得解放。有一件事情是肯定的:那就是如果你认真地去阅读圣经,而且了解了它在其中怎样宣称自己,你将不太可能对他继续持无所谓的态度。
  • 圣经要么撒了弥天大谎,要么事实就如它里面所记载的一样:耶稣的确是他所宣示的那位:至高无上的创造宇宙万物的上帝。从逻辑上来讲,这要么是个蓄意要欺骗大家的充满诗意的虚幻的故事,要么圣经描绘的就是一副清晰的同是你我最终审判者的上帝的形象。不管怎么样,你自己来做判断。如果你觉得你已经对上帝有自己的理解了,那么就把圣经仅仅当作是“知识”,一种可能更好的知识,去比较你以往的认知,看看是否圣经记载的或许就是(实际上本来就是)那位创造这个宇宙中已知的和未知的所有事物的上帝。
  • 人们可以自由的选择是否接受圣经和其中所说的。上帝在造人的时候就赋予了人类“自由意志”,去自由选择我们想要的。但是,人类却选择了违背上帝的教导,把自己置于危险的境地。
  • 因着一位大人物“拿撒勒人耶稣”时光被分为两段:B.C.在基督之前(公元前),和 A.D.基督之后(公元后)。
  • 每一年数以十亿计的人们庆祝他的生日“圣诞节”,和他的肉身从死里复活的日子“复活节”。
  • 耶稣是唯一一位宣称胜过了死亡的宗教领袖。所有其他的都是死了被埋葬了。摩西死了。穆罕默德也死了,现在也没活过来。释迦摩尼死了,甘地也死了。唯有耶稣宣称他还活着。即使是穆斯林也尊崇耶稣为一位神圣的人和伟大的先知。总计几乎一半的地球公民都承认这位耶稣是个伟大的非凡的人物。

总结

接着往下翻阅这本不平常的书。带着谦虚坦率的心来细细的阅读它。它里面包含着上帝的真理、生命的意义、人类的天性和我们自己的内心真实的世界。约翰福音是一个很好的供你开始的篇章,但也别忘了要读完整本圣经——旧约和新约。你会为其中关于上帝和你自己的一些发现而感到吃惊。

如果这位上帝真的是你的审判官,有一天你要到他面前交账。那么在那庄严的审判之日到来之前,你就有必要去了解一下他是谁以及他要求我们做的那几件再简单不过的事情。本质上来说,圣经就是来帮助你应对那件你我注定都要面对的大事的。重要提示:在你读完整本圣经以后,你将永不再是原来的你。

Content ©2013 Daniel P. Buttafuoco,经过作者准许发布。



您是通过一本约翰福音书接受耶稣做您生命的主吗?填写信仰决志书,获取更多在信仰上成长的方式与资源。

关于口袋圣经协会

口袋圣经协会成立至今已有120年,我们鼓励更多人每日读圣经,并积极传扬上帝的话语。

口袋圣经协会属于501(c)3免税非盈利组织,我们的使命始于1893年一位小女孩的异 象。协会现在有来自全球各地602,416位会员,同心致力于“阅读、携带、分享®"上帝的话语。协会成立以来,已在全球用一对一的方式分享了超过一亿本约翰福音书。阅读更多...

与协会Facebook连结

自1893年开始鼓励并装备基督徒积极阅读、携带、分享上帝的话语。

我要奉献!

口袋圣经协会 ©2016 版权所有   隐私声明  |  奉献退款与索取福音书须知

English League Member? Sign In now or Join the League. Membership is free!
Bible

Five Reasons why the Bible is
the most important Book on Earth

Discover the power of God's Word

Dan Buttafuoco, an attorney in New York City, is president of the Historical Bible Society. He has written this powerful description of why we need to be reading Scripture every day.

The Bible is the single most important book ever written. It is an eyewitness account of historical events of such magnitude that they have literally shaped the world in which we live. Without this book the Western world and a good deal of the Eastern world would be completely different today than if the events of this book had never occurred.

It is not too much to say that the events recorded in this book are claimed by a significant percentage of people who have ever lived on this earth to be the most important events ever recorded in the history of the world. This book is foundational to just about everything mankind will ever know or accomplish. It has directly led to massive undertakings of good will and charity. Because of this book, great projects have been undertaken, hospitals have been built, multitudes fed and clothed and orphanages founded.

Here are five primary reasons why you need to read the Bible. This article was written by Dan Buttafuoco, president of the Historical Bible Society.

Reason #1:
The Bible has transformed the world

BibleIt would be impossible to claim to be an educated person in today's world without having at least some familiarity with the events contained in this book. Actually, all of the events contained in this book should be known by everyone.

  • A good number of people around the world read portions of this book every day. It is one of the most published and printed books in the history of the world. It has been printed in just about every known language (including braille) and each year, since it was first written, it has been the world's greatest bestseller year after year. As time marches on it is continually printed in yet more languages. Collectors of rare books treasure it in every form.
  • The Bible was the first book ever put to the printing press. The man who first printed it, Johannes Gutenberg, was recently voted the most important man to have ever lived within the past 1000 years!
  • A good number of museums exist today which are dedicated solely to this very book and the events contained therein.
  • The Bible is available in every corner of the globe, even where it is illegal to own or read this book. It is available in electronic format and on CD as well. You can find it on the internet for free. Famous actors and personages regularly quote it. It was quoted by William Shakespeare many times in his writings.
  • Worldwide organizations and associations have been formed because of this book and its message, many of them existing for centuries. Together they represent multiple hundreds of millions of members.

Reason #2:
People are willing to die for this book

Nails and ThornsPeople have died torturous deaths simply to gain access to this book. You may, even now, be in a country where this book is discouraged or even banned outright. In many countries it is a crime to distribute or even possess this book.

  • This book has been praised, cursed, restricted, banned, desecrated, burned and fought over. People swear on it and at it.
  • Some have tried to eliminate it. All who have tried have failed. People have suffered exquisite tortures and loss of freedom and even their lives for printing it. This has occurred recently and over many centuries past, as well. It is, in fact, a regular occurrence in this world.
  • This book is simultaneously hated and loved. Once read it would be impossible to be indifferent to it; for its claims are monumental and beyond exaggerating. It provokes a strong response in either a positive or negative direction; you will either love it or hate it. It was meant to be so by design. It is so controversial that wars have been fought over its interpretation. Governments have toppled on account of it and kings have been deposed because of it. Most importantly, lives have been dramatically changed for good because of this book.

Reason #3:
It’s the most accurate book of antiquity

Most Accurate Book of AntiquityThe Bible is the most copied book of antiquity. Written over a time period of some 1,500 years, it was completed approximately 2,000 years ago. Yet, in all the centuries that have passed, none of its contents have ever been found inaccurate.

  • It has been translated into its present form directly from the original languages from a vast supply of ancient manuscripts sifted by the best minds and most competent scholars of our day and of many prior generations. It has been translated into every known existing language.
  • It is surpassingly accurate to the smallest details. Its contents, as translated, are as close to the original words of the authors as humanly possible. Only a few words of the entire book (a tiny, insignificant percentage) are in any doubt as to the original words and none of the disputed text affects the message of the book. Additionally, new discoveries of previously unknown ancient manuscripts continue to provide ever greater accuracy to the contents of this book.
  • It has been sifted, studied, commentated upon and dissected more than any book in history. Volumes of books have been written about it and if they were stacked on top of one another they would reach to the sky.
  • Where this book can be verified by external events such as archeology, geography, custom, politics, culture, known world history and writings in other ancient texts it has been so verified as to be accurate in all respects. New discoveries always support it, never vice versa. It has never once been proven faulty on single detail or fact, although many have mightily tried and failed.

Reason #4:
It contains a life-changing message of freedom

Chains ReleasedThe Bible has liberated many from oppression by its clear teachings. It raises the dignity and rights of every human being ever born. It is truly an amazing and remarkable piece of writing. It contains clear teaching on the value and worth of every individual. It will astonish and surprise you and likely move you to tears.

  • It has freed minds and hearts throughout history. The events recorded in this book have generated more great works of art (and some not-so-great ones, as well) than any other subject matter in the history of the world. All the museums in the world, added together, could not possibly contain all of the artwork inspired by the events of this book.
  • This book itself represents true freedom. It has never been in the custody and control of a single group of people, unlike other important books. It belongs to everyone and it has been possessed by everyone, every culture and every tribe and race of people. Reading it will strike you directly in your heart. It has the "ring of truth" to all who love the same.
  • This book contains a message at its very core. It is a message to all people everywhere, in every time period, relevant to their everyday lives. It claims to be the very words of God... an audacious claim, for sure. It is for you to decide whether to believe the message of this book and apply it to your own life.
  • If you now know nothing about God, you will know a great deal about God after reading this book. If you believe you know much about God, you will know even more about him after you read this book. You may even decide to re-evaluate your knowledge of God after reading it.

Reason #5:
It connects you to history’s most important figure

Three CrossesYou may have heard of the "godman," Jesus of Nazareth, also called the "Christ" (i.e."Anointed One"). You may even think you know him. But if you have not read the account offered firsthand throughout this book, you will, in effect, know nothing definite about him. The entire Old Testament points to his coming, and the entire New Testament testifies to his teachings and actions.

  • His name has been used to bless people and it has been used as a curse word by those who despise him. People have been healed and set free in his name. One thing is for sure: when you meet Jesus in the pages of this book and understand who he claims to be it is impossible for you to remain indifferent to him.
  • This story is either the biggest fraud ever perpetrated on mankind or it describes Jesus as exactly who he claims to be: the Supreme Lord and Ruler over all of mankind and the very creator God of the Universe. Logically speaking, this is either a nice poetic story created from a fantasy with an intent to deceive you or a clear and accurate picture of God, who is our judge ( both mine and yours). You decide. If you think you know about God already, consider the source of that "knowledge" and examine if this book may, in fact, be a better source for true knowledge about the one true Creator God that made you and everything else, both known an unknown in this Universe.
  • People are free to reject this book and what it says. God made us "free moral agents" to choose as we desire. Yet, people violate the teachings and wisdom of this book at their own peril.
  • Because of the main person in this book, Jesus of Nazareth, time has been split into two main epochs (B.C. "before Christ" and A.D. "anno Domini" for "year of our Lord").
  • Each year, over a billion people celebrate his birth, his death and his bodily resurrection from the dead.
  • Jesus is the only religious leader ever to make the claim that he has risen from the dead. All others are dead and buried. Abraham is dead. Moses is dead. Mohammed has died and remains dead, Buddha is dead, Gandhi is dead. Only Jesus claims to be alive. Even Muslims revere Jesus as a holy man and a great prophet. All told, about half of the world today accepts that this Jesus was a great and remarkable personage.

Conclusion

Keep turning the pages of this remarkable book. Read it with an open mind and open heart. It contains pure truth about God, about life, the nature of mankind and our own hearts as human beings. The Gospel of John is a wonderful place to start, but read the whole thing — Old and New Testaments. You'll be amazed what you discover about God, and about yourself.

If this God is indeed your judge, before whom you will someday give an account of your life, it truly behooves you to be aware of who he is and the simple thing he asks of us before that solemn time comes. In essence, this book will help you to deal with that very event for which we are all destined. Be warned: you will not be the same after you read this book.

Content ©2013 Daniel P. Buttafuoco, used with express permission of author.

As a way to recognize members' efforts to recruit other Christians to join The Pocket Testament League, the League's Impact Club offers rewards for various levels of achievement. Read more by going to Community > Impact Club on the League's website. We know you don't do it for earthly rewards, but it's only fair to give you a little something back for your efforts.

Connect with us on Facebook

Mobilizing and equipping Christians to Read Carry Share® the Word of God since 1893.

Donate Now
About the League

The Pocket Testament League is a 120 year old Christian outreach ministry that promotes Scripture reading and personal evangelism.

Inspired by the vision of a teenage girl in 1893, some 412,554 members from many Christian denominations have agreed to "Read Carry Share®" the Bible as the Word of God, and have given away more than 110 million Gospel of John books in simple one-to-one encounters. The Pocket Testament League is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Read more...

Copyright ©2014 The Pocket Testament League®. The Pocket Testament League® is a registered 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. All rights reserved.   Privacy Policy  |  Refunds and Returns